Oscar Fish Scales

Is your fish suddenly under the weather? This forum will serve to offer the quickest reaction for emergency cases. Please... no conversations off topic on this board.

Moderators: OSpot Team Leader, OSpot Team

Oscar Fish Scales

Postby Serena » Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:10 am

I have two babie oscar fish right now growing in a 10 gallon tank just until I sent up my big tank. I had a bottom feeder (suckerfish) in my tank along with my two babies. With this oscars being a high waste producer I have a underground filter and a water filter. I went to change the water today and realized my oscar has white scales on one side, and his fins apeared to be slightly beat up. It wasnt bad though Not horrific or anything just concerning...

Anyways, cleaning my tank i remove my fish every 2 weeks to completly clean my tank and well taking my oscars didnt see my sucker fish... however when i pulled out my filter his head was still there.. :'( so this maybe caused his problems? I keep the tank really clean and have a varying diet. I turned the temp up to about 82 and added a little salt to help irritation which i had previously read from anohter bullitin. My oscars eyes are usually orange but are turning blue however i added ich solution thinking when it first occured thats what it was. so maybe the blue dyed it?

Ive read that gel stuff would work but need to know where to get it and how much on average it is. So i dont know what to do with them. they get along fine and all so is it just the bottom feeders body that ruined it and if i keep it clean it will be fine?

also my oscar isnt eating anything :(((
thank you

<serena>
Last edited by Serena on Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Serena
Hatchling
Hatchling

Re: Oscar Fish Scales

Postby danfish » Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:33 am